Did anyone get an email like this in yahoo answers?
From: Jessie K
Subject: Information needed
Message: It has come to our attention that you have used Limewire. Limewire is an illegal music stealing system that is punishable by fines of up to $25,000 per song by the Recording Industry of America. We need your IP address and a list of the songs you have stolen.
Jessie Killam
RIAA representative
Los Angeles, California
** I don’t use limewire, but I have answered questions on here about music downloads, so I’m wondering if it’s either:
1 - Someone who works for the RIAA emailing everyone who has mentioned free music download, and trying to trick them into saying they’ve used it, or
2 - A hacker wannabe trying to get my IP address
Lean towards number 2. If they know your using Limewire, they would also know all of the songs you have downloaded and EVERY packet would have your IP address on them.
Its just some idiot trying to scare you… however, there is some truth to the scare!
Just today, one of my Marines said that his son was downloading SIMs 2 and was caught by the DMCA -
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DMCA
He received a letter from the DMCA and his ISP. The dad now has so many days to PROVE that he has a license for it! The ISP said his account will be suspended unless it was proved that it was an infringement of the DMCA!
I was REALLY surprised until I read the letter! The son was using a Torrent site! Most likely a DCMA torrent!